For Those Who Grade Writing

I have to admit I was horrified when I read this article on The Chronicle of Higher Education.  The article is not horrifying, but some of the comments professors put on students’ papers are.  I can’t imagine ever calling a student’s writing “garbage,” even if I thought that it was (I don’t, for the record, as I assume students are at least reasonably trying to write well, even if they’re not succeeding).  I’ll end by agreeing with Batt’s closing sentence:  “If we can’t muster a few supportive words for those writers, at least we should do them no harm.”

Leave a Reply

